Welcome to Valley Grassroots for Democracy!  Since 2005 we've been one of the most active Democratic Clubs in the San Fernando Valley.

Come to one of our meetings and see what we're all about.  You can find our meeting information and upcoming events on our calendar page.

2024 Meeting Schedule

All Saturdays 10:00am to 12:00pm, IN PERSON, State Building Auditorium, 6150 Van Nuys Blvd, Van Nuys.

Metered parking and entrance on Calvert.  Door is to the right of the big gates.  (Hard to see while driving by since it's at an angle.)

January 20
February 17
March 16
April 20
May 18  Summer BBQ at a different location, 1pm to 4pm
June 15
July 20 
August 17  (Nominations for Executive Board)
September 21 (Elections for Executive Board; moved from prior week due to Jewish holiday)
October 19
November 16
December TBD **Holiday Party** at a different location

2024 Valley Grassroots Executive Board:


President: Patricia Dexter ([email protected])
Vice-President: Chris Long
Secretary:  Joyce Fidler   
Treasurer: Chad Jones

At Large: 

Steve Krantz  (Membership)
Adrienne Burk
Doris Dent   
Lloyd Dent  
Cindy Kalman
Amy Rafti  
Gregg Solkovits  
Sue Weber

Just click this link for which election you are interested in. All the candidates will come up You can copy and paste this URL in your browser:

There are lots of choices on this page but all candidates and groups must file quarterly. Also a good link for finding out who is funding propositions and measures. Just click this link for which election you are interested in. All the candidates will come up You can copy and paste this URL in your browser:


Phone numbers for our representatives. (Regarding Senators, you may need to try different offices in order to get through.) 

U.S. Senators

Senator Laphonsa Butler: 
DC office: (202) 224-3841
Los Angeles office: TBD  Other statewide offices here

Senator Alex Padilla: 
DC:  (202) 224-3553
Los Angeles: 310-231-4494   Other statewide offices here

U.S. House of Representatives

Congressman Brad Sherman (32nd):
DC: (202) 225-5911    Local: (818) 501-9200

Congressman Tony Cardenas (29th):
DC: (202) 225-6131    Local: (818) 221-3718

Congressman Adam Schiff (28th):
DC: (202) 225-4176    Local: (818) 450-2900, (323) 315-5555


State of California Assemblymembers

Assemblymember Laura Friedman             (43rd District Website) or (818) 558-3043

Assemblymember Jesse Gabriel                    (46th District Website) or (818) 904-3840


State Senators

State Senator Caroline Menjivar                  (20th District Website) or (818) 901-5588

State Senator Anthony J. Portantino           (25th District Website) or (818) 409-0400

State Senator Henry Stern                              (27th District Website) or (818) 876-3352


Los Angeles County Supervisors:

3rd District Website Lindsey Horvath     ([email protected]) (213-974-3333)

5th District Website Kathryn Barger     ([email protected]) (213-974-5555)


Los Angeles City Council Members

Paul Krekorian                                         (2nd District Website) or (818) 755-7676

Bob Blumenfield                                     (3rd District Website) or (818) 756-8848

Nithya Raman                                           (4th District Website) or [email protected] 213-473-7004

Katy Young Yaroslavsky                          (5th District Website) or (323) 866-1828

Imelda Padilla                                             (6th District Website) or (213) 473-7006

Monica Rodriguez                                     (7th District Website) or (213) 473-7007

Do you like this?

July 20 Meeting

Saturday, July 20, 2024 at 10:00 AM · 7 rsvps
State Building Auditorium in Van Nuys, CA

Come join us!  We'll go over the latest ballot propositions, and have an open forum to discuss whatever is on your minds.  We'll also have postcards from Field Team 6 to write, encouraging likely Democrats in Swing states to register to vote.

Upcoming Events

Saturday, July 20, 2024 at 10:00 AM

Valley Grassroots for Democracy